Exciting News!

Mark and I have some very exciting news…we’re adopting….two children….from Ethiopia!

Are we nuts?!  Perhaps.  Naïve?  Maybe a little.  But we have a lot of love to give.  There are a lot of children in Ethiopia that need love.  It’s a good combination.

So I have a lot of ground to cover and I don’t want to make this post super long.  I plan to blog throughout the entire process.  I hope you’ll read.  If you subscribe by using the button to the right, it will send you the post in an email each time I update so that you don’t have to constantly check back.  It’s pretty cool, and you don’t get any other junk mail from it.  Plus it makes me feel cool to have subscribers.

So where are we at in the process?

In mid-August we filled out a preliminary application and mailed it in:

We tried to get one with the whole family…but we didn’t have a photographer and getting three animals to sit still is not an easy task.

We were approved in early September, and they mailed us a mountain of paperwork.

This paperwork was the acceptance of the terms of the home study, what the agency does and what we’re responsible for, blah blah blah.  We signed and signed and dated and dated and just sent that in earlier this week.  After they receive it, we will go through even more paperwork and start the home study process.  I will talk much more about this process in future entries- I can’t give away all my material in this first post!  But the whole thing takes about two years from start to finish.  Two years before we bring home our babies.

I have so much to tell you, but I will start by answering a few questions.  Pretty much every time we tell someone we are adopting, these are the questions we get asked.

Why Ethiopia?

There’s a question I must answer before I can get to that question.  The first question is really ‘Why International’?  I can tell you that Mark and I both felt called to international adoption.  We both just felt that it was right.  I know that there are lots of kids that need homes in our own country.  I know that it’s cheaper to adopt domestically.  I know we’re not going the most practical route.  I know.  But we believe it’s the right route for us.  There is undoubtedly a need in the U.S., and people that adopt domestically do a very noble thing and have my respect.  But when we looked at the need in the U.S. compared to the need in other countries, it became clear where our kids would come from.  But to be totally honest we didn’t put a lot of time into this first decision.  That pull in our hearts was there from the beginning.

Once we decided to adopt internationally, we looked at lots of countries.  I was surprised to learn that maybe only a dozen or so countries have strong adoption agreements with the U.S.  Now, you can adopt from many more countries, but when you want a relatively stable adoption through a well know agency, there are really not that many to start from.  Of the dozen or so, about half required you to be 30 years old.  This is at the request of each individual country.  Obviously, it was easy to cross those countries off our list.  Of the remaining ones, we looked at costs, need, wait time, and the ages of the available children.  Ethiopia was really the clear choice.

How old will the kids be, what gender will they be?

They will be young.  Two or three and younger.  Siblings.  We are not specifying the gender.  We have that option, but the more specific you get the longer you may have to wait.  We will not find out their ages or gender until pretty far into the process – maybe 4 or 6 months before we bring them home.

Why are you adopting?

People don’t often ask this outright, but I know people wonder to themselves.  We have dealt with infertility for the past year and a half.  It’s nothing I am ashamed of or embarrassed to talk about, and if you have questions or are dealing with that yourselves I would love to talk to you about it.  If you scroll down you will see many old posts that are password protected.  I have been blogging for many months about that struggle – and it was a struggle at times – but due to the private nature of the subject and my tendency to over share, I opted to make those private.  But if that’s something you’re interested in, let me know.  I’m happy to let you read.  We didn’t want adoption to feel like a second choice or a backup plan.  Through lots of prayer and soul searching we are very excited about it and no longer feel that way.  We do not want sympathy.  This adoption is a very exciting and beautiful thing, not something we are going into with doubts.  Don’t get me wrong, we are nervous and scared.  But we couldn’t be more sure that this is what we are supposed to be doing.  Infertility is a heartbreaking battle, especially when everybody you know is getting pregnant, but I think that sometimes it happens for a reason.  A beautiful reason.

I could type pages and pages, but I’ll stop here for now.  In the future I will talk more about the process, the emotions, racial issues, the costs, everything that we go through.  If you have a question please ask it; nothing is really off limits.  Oh and just so you know….I LOVE comments.  I get really excited when someone comments.  And probably no one will comment and now I will feel like a fool.

That’s all for now.  Thanks for stopping by.  We are so excited that you’re coming on this journey with us.

19 Comments

Filed under Adoption Process, Milestones

19 responses to “Exciting News!

  1. Misty

    Jayme this is amazing! I think that adoption is such a wonderful thing and I can’t wait to read along as you undertake this journey. I actually follow a blog a very lovely lady in Texas writes and she has three very beautiful adopted children–you should check it out sometime! The link is: http://loraleelewis.blogspot.com/

  2. Judy boyd

    I AM THRILLED FOR YOU BOTH!! ISN’T IT WONDERFUL TO KNOW YOU HAVE GOD WATCHING OVER YOUR LITTLE ONES ALREADY!! HE WILL GUIDE YOU THROUGH AND TO THE LITTLE ONES HE WANTS YOU TO LOVE AND GUIDE THROUGH LIFE AS MOMMY AND DADDY. YOU MOM SHARED WITH ME WHEN I CALLED HER ON HER BD AND I AM SO EXCITED TO HEAR ALL ABOUT IT. BLESSINGS, AND LOVE, AUNT JUDY, SOON GREAT AUNT JUDY!!

  3. Tammy

    So happy for u guys Jayme. Will most definately follow along to read of your journey

  4. Julia

    Jayme,

    I am so happy for you and Mark, what a great thing you guys are doing. Best of luck in your adoption process 😀

  5. Melody Pettit

    Jayme…
    I am absolutely thrilled for you. What a noble undertaking. Thank you for sharing your post, it’s a great story indeed. I look forward to following your journey.
    your friend,
    Melody!

  6. Allison

    Those 2 kids are soooo lucky to be getting you guys as parents!!! These next couple years will probably seem like forever but once your babies are in your arms time will fly by. I pray that God will bring your little angels to you soon!

  7. Jessi Corwin

    Jayme & Mark,
    I think this is such an amazing thing you are doing! I’m excited to keep following your journey!
    Jessi

  8. This is so awesome! I’ll be praying for you guys, for this whole process, and for your children that will be forthcoming. Blessings to you both.

  9. Kaylyn

    Jayme, I already made a fb post but once again, I’m very excited for you both. Also, thanks for sharing all of this. I always wanted to adopt and it will be fun and educational to read your blog as you go through the process. Just a suggestion, many corporations have adoption help. I hope you have checked this with both of you guys’ HR benefits.

  10. Megan

    Jayme & Mark –
    I am SO thrilled for you! I know you will be amazing parents to two of the luckiest kids in the world. I can’t wait to “tag along” on this wonderful journey you are taking! CONGRATS!!!

  11. Leah

    Jaymes!

    I’m so happy for and proud of you and Mark! What an exciting journey. I look forward to hearing all about it. Love you both!

  12. Congrats!!! Although I haven’t had the priviledge of meeting you yet, I’ve been where you are. What an amazing adventure you are starting on. Roger Sodsod told me about your story and I wanted to tell you we are starting an Adoption Ministry at the church. I would love to help support you while you go through all the stages that will come up. It will be exciting and scary at times, but it’s so worth it in the end. We came home just last Mar with our 2 beautiful children. Please email me directly if you would like to talk, and watch for an Informational Meeting coming up soon for the Adoption Ministry. God has blessed you with your heart for adoption and he will guide you and provide through this process. You will be in our prayers.

  13. Tressa

    Jayme & Mark,

    Congratulations! Those kids will be so blessed to have you two as parents. I’m so happy for you both, and am excited to follow your journey.

    Always,
    Tressa

  14. Leah

    Jayme I am so happy for you and Mark! This is such an incredibly exciting undertaking. I can’t wait to have two new cousins!!! I know this is thinking a little far ahead… but you guys will have to come up to St. Joe a LOT! My mom needs some kids to spoil, not mention taking them to Krug Park and all those little places we grew up playing at 🙂 I know a couple that went through the same thing a few years ago and their kids are now 10 and 12 and they are amazing! It is very easy to see God’s hand in something. I’ll be praying for all (four) of you! I love you!!

  15. Seng

    Wow!!! How amazing and wonderful!!! I am SOOO happy for both of you. You need to make this into an RSS feed that I can subscribe too!!!

    • justjames44

      Tell me how to do that and I’ll get it done. I found the RSS widget but it’s asking for links and I have no idea what that means?

  16. Abby Kemna

    I think it is amazing what you are doing. My husband and I have discussed adoption as well. Every child deserves a chance, and you guys will be amazing parents. My parents struggled with infertility for several years. They finally decided to adopt my older brother and then wouldn’t you know they got pregnant with me a few months later and two other siblings in the next six years. Don’t give up hope on having a baby of your own. My prayers are with you guys. Good luck on this journey! Parenthood really is the most rewarding thing you will ever do.

  17. Candace

    Jayme and Mark,
    This is some Pretty Amazing news! I’m so excited for the two of you and both of your famlies. There is nothing more than a Great Blessing from God and the feeling you will get when doing something Amazing like you are. You two will be Great parents and will enjoy every minute of it! I’m excited to be able to be apart of this Wonderful Journey by reading and by Phoenix being your nephew. I have not told him anything and I won’t. I will leave that for you guys to do. I wish you both the Joy and Happiness and the Best of Luck with this wonderful Journey that God will bring!
    Congradulations once again and thank you for letting me be apart! You two will be in my thoughts and prayers!
    xoxo
    Candace

Leave a Reply

