Letter of Introduction

I love blogging.  I don’t really have a set agenda or plan for the blog.  I just plan to update when something interesting happens or when I think of a special topic to write about (if you have any suggestions for those, send ’em over).  That being said, my definition of interesting may be different than yours.  So if I am posting too many details or putting you to sleep please let me know.  In private, of course.  No need to embarass me on the comments page.  Those aren’t the comments I love.  But seriously, please do.  I want this to be interesting and informative for anyone wanting to learn more about adoption, so if it is not accomplishing that purpose I want to know.

Today we wrote our letter of introduction, one of the papers that will be included in the dossier.  This is just a letter to the Ethiopian government expressing why we want to adopt from there.  They don’t exactly leave you with a lot of creative freedom.  The agency pretty much tells you what to put in the letter, and it is only supposed to be a half page.  This has to be notartized (and certified…and authenicated…and authenicated again), but before we get it notarized I’m supposed to send it to our case worker.  I honestly don’t know how anyone can screw it up since they give you such detailed instructions, so I’m interested to see if she actually has feedback and suggested changes or if it’s just a sort of formality to make sure you followed instructions.  Anyway, here is is:

Dear Ministry of Women’s Affairs:

Mark and I are a young professional couple from the middle of the United States.  We have fun doing many things together, especially things with our great friends, family, community, and church. 

We desire to adopt two children from Ethiopia because we feel our family is not complete without children.  Ethiopia has a lot of children that need love, and we have a lot of love to give.

We respect the Ethiopian culture and intend to raise our children with a respect for it as well.  Kansas City has a strong network of children adopted from Ethiopia.  Our family and friends have been incredibly supportive regarding us adopting children of a different race, and we plan to discuss this openly in our home.

We will provide the children with a loving home and will never abandon or abuse them.  We will raise the children with the full rights that any birth child would have. 

We want to give our children the opportunity to fulfill their dreams, whatever they may be.  We will send them to good schools and save for their college educations.

There are many resources available to us and our adopted children.  We have already purchased several books and plan to continue to educate ourselves about this topic.  We also plan to keep in touch with the Ethiopian network in Kansas City, and with our friends who have adopted or are raising biracial children.

Our church is also involved with Ethiopia and we would love to one day return with our children on a missions trip.

Thank you,

Mark and Jayme Miller

 

Side note:  All this stuff is supposed to be on a “family letterhead” that consists of your names, address, etc.  I made our family letterhead using a font called Elephant.  I just felt that was appropriate.

4 Comments

Filed under Adoption Process

4 responses to “Letter of Introduction

  1. Allison

    Ok so even though I knew you were told what to write in the letter for some reason I was starting to get teary-eyed reading it!!! Man I’m such a sap about this stuff….. Children are so amazing and I guess I am just excited for you guys to experience this blessing in such a special way. Thank you guys for sharing your experience with so many people, God really works in amazing ways!

  2. Mandy

    Sending lots of prayers your way!! You and Mark are so amazing and these kids are going to be so blessed having you guys as parents!!! You guys ROCK!!!!

  3. Sarah Burton

    I like your font choice; it’s like a little dash of your personality and sense of humor in a very official document. 🙂

  4. Shannon Addington

    The letter looks fantastic. If they don’t jump to allow you to adopt, then they are nuts. If you need a notary, I’m one. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

