Booya!

Some exciting news!  Well, probably much more exciting to me than anyone else.  At the risk of sounding horribly arrogant, I must give myself a pat on the back for some brilliant ideas I’ve had recently.

Today we mailed in most of those papers I’ve talked about.  My relentless questioning uncovered that after we send them to the headquarters in St. Louis, someone scans them and then sends them to our case worker in Kansas City.  That person in St. Louis only works three days a week, so I was anticipating this taking at least a week.  I thought, “I could just scan them myself and send them e-copies at the same time I mail this.”  Didn’t know how they would feel about that, but figured it was worth a shot.  Well…it worked!   The case worker called today- today, the very same day I mailed the papers!- and wants to start scheduling our home study visits next week!  As my friend Anne would say, “Booya!”  I pretty much counted on everything going slower than we thought it would, so for something to go faster is pretty exciting.  Hooray!

My other brilliant idea involves writing letters to our kids.  I know a lot of people who are having biokids do this, but I had never thought of doing it for adoption.  I want the kids to know how long we’ve waited for them and how God matched us up long before the world did.  From what I’ve heard/read, a lot of adopted children go through a phase where they feel unloved, unwanted, abandoned, etc.  I’m not naive enough to think that letters will prevent this from happening, but I’m hoping that it will help to know that we wanted them for a long time.  Our youngest isn’t even born yet.

That’s all for now, can’t wait to tell you about the home study!

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Adoption Process, Home Study, Just for Fun

3 responses to “Booya!

  1. Tressa

    That’s awesome Jayme!! Brilliant thinking too, scanning it yourself to email to them. (Bet they think, wow, she’s smart AND efficient.)

  2. anne

    i love that my vocabulary touches the lives of others! booya lady! so excited for you and mark!!!!

  3. Michelle Ramirez

    I am so excited for you all….I hope it continues to go quicker than expected…how nice would that be. God is with you…..

Leave a Reply

