Operation: Like Coffee

I have become a bit of a blog junkie lately.  It turns out that everybody that adopts blogs, and they all link to other adoption blogs.  I will stumble across one of these and then lose myself for hours linking between blogs.  I don’t even know most the people I blog-stalk.  And I almost always cry at their stories.

I’ve recently read about several families’ trips to Ethiopia.  And they all involve coffee.  Ethiopians LOVE coffee.  They brag about their coffee.  They drink it all day long.   They have coffee ceremonies.  It’s a huge deal there.  Which is a probem for me because I. Hate. Coffee.  I’m very picky about what I drink.  It’s pretty much water, milk, and lemonade…oh and wine, tequila, and the occasional beer.  Notice the complete absence of caffeine.  I don’t like the taste of coffee,  I don’t like the smell, I don’t like the way my mouth feels afterwards.  It’s considered rude and disrespectful not to participate in these ceremonies.  What to do, what to do?

I figure I have awhile to ease myself into the not-hating-coffee space.  Not sure I’ll ever get to the liking coffee space.  Any suggestions on how to start (my nose is scrunched as I type)?  It’s not even good for you…I’m asking you how to start a bad habit.  Sigh.

PS. Don’t even get me started on onions.  They’re not as loved as coffee, but they’re used in nearly all dishes and I really really hate onions.

PPS. Like my blog facelift?

7 Comments

Filed under Ethiopia

7 responses to “Operation: Like Coffee

  1. Kaydee

    A growing body of research shows that coffee drinkers, compared to nondrinkers, are:
    less likely to have type 2 diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, and dementia
    have fewer cases of certain cancers, heart rhythm problems, and strokes
    “There is certainly much more good news than bad news, in terms of coffee and health,” says Frank Hu, MD, MPH, PhD, nutrition and epidemiology professor at the Harvard School of Public Health.
    -from Web MD
    http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/coffee-new-health-food
    Now, theres not a ton of solid evidence to prove these claims, due to the lack of research and difficulty of pinpointing cause and effect as with any nutrition source. So no I wouldnt take up coffee drinking only for health benefits- because yes the caffeine can be bad IF you consume enough of it.

    America doesn’t love coffee like the Ethiopians may, but it can be a fun social drink. Imagine sitting around one cold morning at a bed and breakfast sipping a hot cup of coffee, smelling the wonderful aroma. Mmm… I truly look forward to those times, and you can too.

  2. Aunt Annette

    Be careful of the bad habits you try to learn and enjoy. We had to encourage Matthew to drink pop so he had something to drink at ball games, etc. Now he is trying to stop drinking so much because its not good for you. Good Luck with your coffee and onions. Maybe you could combine the 2 and have coffee and onion soup. Sounds yummy! Love, Aunt Annette

  3. I have no advice for you learning to like coffee or onions … I hate them both. Here is a tip for choking down coffee while in Ethiopia (and yes, I think I sat through at least 5 coffee ceremonies). Keep chocolates in your pocket. Take a bite of chocolate and then a drink of coffee and then another bite of chocolate. They also always serve popcorn with the coffee, so that helps too (though I thought the chocolate worked better), though the popcorn is nothing like how I like it (little salt, no butter). Good luck!

  4. Lainey Puglisi

    I.Love.Coffee…at least the frou frou kind but I’ve recently tried cutting caffeine out of my diet and switched to decaf espresso in my drinks. I’d suggest starting out with decaf as I find the taste to be less harsh. Mix the decaf with milk and caramel, chocolate or vanilla and I think that’ll give you a good start. Good luck!

  5. Allison

    I love coffee drinks but not plain coffee. At work we sometimes put a hot chocolate packet in a cup of coffee. It’s called a poor man’s latte 🙂 I agree with your sister. Coffee drinking in moderation is ok.

  6. Will

    you should start with flavor coffee .. i cant stand just regular black coffee, but I love my French Vanilla 🙂 There is a lot of debate with coffee but as to with everything we put in our mouth/body, moderation is the key.

Leave a Reply

