Financial Concerns: Introduction

I have struggled with whether or not to write my next few posts.  Financial considerations are a big part of adoption, especially international adoption.  The goal I hope to accomplish with my blog is to not only share my family with you, but also to shine a light on the beauty of adoption and answer any questions people may have.  In this sense, the blog would be incomplete without addressing financial concerns.  But it seems so personal.  It seems a little invasive.  I grew up with parents who provided me an excellent example on how to handle money (they paid off a nice house in 5 years), but finances were not something that were openly discussed.  So this is a little uncomfortable for me, but I’m going ahead with it because I think there is value in talking about it…even if it is none of your business. 🙂

When it comes to adoption finances there are a lot of things to discuss, more things than are reasonable to discuss in one post.  So over the next few days I will post a series of entries discussing why international adoption is so expensive, how normal families can afford it, and what you can do to help (don’t worry, I won’t solicit any money).

To start, I will tell you what we are dealing with.  Every agency has slightly different costs, and every country has significantly different costs and requirements to qualify for adoption.  So I am blogging about our experience and our experience alone.  It could be totally different than your neighbor’s experience.  Also, international is one of the more expensive kinds of adoption.  If you want to adopt and that is holding you back, first read my posts….but if I can’t convince you it’s doable, there are other kinds of adoption that don’t hit the pocketbook quite as hard.

Enough of the disclaimers.  Our agency requires that you have a positive net worth.  In addition, Ethiopia requires that your household income is 125% over the poverty line.  We met both of those requirements (thanks Dave Ramsey).  So what’s it cost?  To adopt two children, we are budgeting around (hard swallow) $30,000+ for everything.  Ethiopia is one of the cheaper countries to adopt from.  Some countries are nearly double that. 

That’s not chump change.  But with some praying, budgeting, and prioritizing, it is possible.  $30,000 seems like a lot for two children.  But consider how much a new Ford Edge or Dodge Ram cost.   Prioritizing becomes very important. 

 

That’s enough for today.  Next time I’ll talk about why it costs so much money!

2 Comments

Filed under Adoption Finances

2 responses to “Financial Concerns: Introduction

  1. Mandy

    Wow Jayme!! Saying lots of prayers for you guys!!!! You both are going to be amazing parents…those kids are so lucky!

    • Sarah Burton

      I think it’s awesome how the Lord has used some of your other passions and skills (financial management, organization, creative writing, etc) to prepare you for being an adoptive family.

Leave a Reply

