Ethiopia in Kansas City

Hello friends.

I am so happy to be writing to you.  I am not a winter kind of gal.  So each inch of snow that falls is like another poke in the eyeball.  A swift kick to the shins.   A stomp on my heart.  To top it off, for the last two days I have not been feeling well at all.  Walking to the kitchen requires a stop to rest along the way.  The only solid food I’ve eaten since Monday is one piece of toast.  But I have been saving my energy to tell you about what we did on Sunday, on a day the snow was melting and the world was a little happier.

The great thing about living in a big city is all the diversity.  (side note: Mark does not think that Kansas City is a big city.  But since the metro is roughly 222 times the size of my hometown, it’s big.)  We’re not the only ones in this city who are adopting from Ethiopia.  Not even close.  In fact, there is a pretty great community of families that have adopted from this small country in Africa.  Every month or so, they get together.  This Sunday, we joined them for the first time at Blue Nile Cafe.

There is a Blue Nile in the River Market area that we have been to before, but they just opened one at 135th and Metcalf in Overland Park a couple of months ago.  The adoptive families took it over!

Seriously, I have to think that is the busiest they have ever been.  We took Isak with us and he really liked seeing kids from his country and talking to people who have been there.  The owners were working and Isak spoke to them in Amharic. 

Most of us ordered the buffet, which had some items I wouldn’t touch but also had some legitimately good items.  Isak ordered off the menu.  He  introduced Mark to a new dish- raw meat disguised as kitffo!  The description for kitffo is “100% lean ground beef fused with exotic spices and seasoned kebbeh, served slightly cooked.”  They weren’t kidding when they said slightly cooked!  I could hardly look at it without gagging so I was very impressed that Mark gave it a try!

We really enjoyed talking to other families and hearing about their experiences.  Two of the families we met are actually leaving this week to meet their children for the first time.  I got a little teary-eyed just looking at their photos and thinking about what was in store for them.  That wasn’t the only time I got teary-eyed.  More than once I caught myself looking around the room and thinking about the beautiful story of every family that was there.  These adults and children from opposite sides of the world, with different colors of skin and totally different realities, that were brought together by God to be forever families.  It was a beautiful thing indeed, and I am so thankful that we have such a great network of families right here in Kansas City.

*By the way, I don’t have permission to post these photos….if you find yourself in one and that’s not okay, please let me know and I will remove!

2 Comments

Filed under Ethiopia, Isak

2 responses to “Ethiopia in Kansas City

  1. Cathy

    How cool is that?! That is great that you have so many people that have walked down the same path as you two that can offer advice and answer questions. It’s also so neat to know that your kids will have a network of kids just like them to relate with and be friends. So happy/excited for you guys! Can’t wait to meet my new niece/nephew combo! 😉 love you guys!

  2. Arkman West is your premier resource in Kansas City concerning Ethiopia.
    Visit us online at http://arkmanwest.com.

Leave a Reply

