100th Post and Garage Sale Results

Guess what?

This is my 100th post.  That’s a pretty significant milestone for a blog.  I was thinking back to 3.19.10 when I started this blog.  A little over a year ago.  We were frustrated that we weren’t pregnant and getting ready to see a fertility doctor for the first time.  If I had a crystal ball back then and could know that we would be adopting…from Africa…older children…in just over a year, I probably would have thrown that darn ball out the window, sure it was broken.  This was not our plan, not even close.  Our plan didn’t work out, and I actually feel very lucky for that.  Because if it would have worked out, we would have missed out on the beautiful blessings that are happening in our lives.  Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day a few times a week to read this blog, whether this is your first time reading or you’ve read all 100 posts.  I love blogging, and I hope you enjoy reading.

Oh, and there was a little garage sale this weekend.

Actually, it wasn’t so little:

One girl said it wasn’t a garage sale as much as a flea market.

Many of you stopped by.  Many customers that came through said they had heard about the sale from one of you.  Thank you so much for your support.  The traffic was heavy all day long.  Like, crazy heavy. And it wasn’t due to the cloudy and chilly weather.  I think part of it is because it was a big neighborhood sale, but a large part of that was due to you spreading the word.  Thank you.

So what were the results?  Who is the winner?

To calculate the earnings, I counted all donations received to date.  I counted everything we made yesterday but did not subtract for our expenses such as gas for the trips back and forth.  There were a few items I sold online before the sale, and I did count those earnings.  There are a few items that didn’t sell yesterday that I will try to sell online next week, and I did not count those since they haven’t yet sold.

There were 29 entries to the contest (AWESOME!) and the average of the guesses was $2,386.42.  You guys are pretty smart because our actual total was (drumroll please)………..

Just a tad less than that, $2,216.43!!!!

The winner of the contest is Melissa, who guessed $2,163.50.  She was just $52.93 off.  Congratulations!!!  Please send me your contact info so I can get you details for collecting your prize from No Tengo Miedo Clay.  If any of you are crafty and would like to have prizes featured in future contests, please let me know!

That is a huge amount of money.  I really had no idea what to expect; I thought maybe around $1,000 or $1,500.  But over $2,000?  Thats a lot.

That is enough money to fly both of our kids home from Africa. 

You guys are literally bringing our kids home!   

7 Comments

Filed under Adoption Finances, Fundraisers, Just for Fun

7 responses to “100th Post and Garage Sale Results

  1. judy

    WONDERFUL!! wISH i COULD HAVE BEEN THERE, I DEARLY LOVE GARAGE SALES!!!!

  2. Megan

    That is an amazing total!!!! I am so excited for you!

  3. Connie Campbell

    Glad to be a part of bringing your kids home! You two will make such awesome parents!

  4. Aunt T

    I’m glad we got to help out. Can’t wait to see my new great niece and nephew. I wanted also to pass on a little bit of info on the baskets that I bought at the garage sale. I didn’t know they were Laura’s, thought it was kinda funny when she told me that. Love you both so much.

  5. Candace

    That is Amazing news you two! Congrats and good luck with the journey God has blessed you both with! I’m sure Phoenix will be happy to meet them as well!

  6. Sarah

    Amazing!! Congratulations on such a successful sale….every single dollar helps when it comes to getting your kids home and every single dollar is worth it. I can’t wait for September! Your family will continue to be in my prayers.

  7. That’s great!!! We are so excited for you and pray for you regularly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

