Meet Tressa

I went to high school with Tressa, but we’ve really reconnected over the past couple years through Facebook.  Our stories look very different, but some of the feelings are the same.  You see, after struggling with PCOS, Tressa and her husband Edward finally conceived, only to deliver at 23 weeks and lose their precious angel Aurora a few hours later.  It’s a heartbreaking story.  Tressa has struggled, of course.  But she is really dealing with it like a champ.  She blogs about it here.

Why am I telling you this?

A few weeks ago, Tressa and Edward met up with us to give us some garage sale donations.  That was nice, but I wasn’t expecting a present from her!  She gave me this:

She made it.  It’s an Ethiopian flag with the Amharic words for “mother” and “father” on top.  She wrote this poem:

For a baby you prayed, Asking God to make it so

The hardest thing to hear is when he whispers “No”

At the time you did not know but God had other plans

You already had two children in a faraway land

Two children born to a woman, children she could not keep

Two children that were yours you knew in your hearts so way down deep

These children may not have your eyes, nose, and other parts

But the most important truth; your children have your hearts

As you walk hand-in-hand we pray for God to see you through

While you make this journey to bring your children home with you

It is one of the most creative, heartfelt gifts I have ever received.  I LOVE it.  Thank you Tressa, for sharing your story and for such a thoughtful gift.  It will be treasured for years to come.

8 Comments

Filed under Ethiopia, Just for Fun

8 responses to “Meet Tressa

  1. Allison

    That is the most awesome thing I have ever seen! That is such a thoughtful and amazing gift. Tears are running after reading this.

  2. I feel famous! 😉 Seriously though, I am so glad you love it! I must have asked Edward a hundred times, “Do you think they will like it?” It made me tear up reading your post. 🙂

  3. Janessa Paden

    Awe…that is so Awesome! She gives the best gifts! We still have the beautiful baby blanket she made Allison with her name embroidered. So amazingly thoughtful!!!

  4. Emily B

    AMAZING!!!!!!

  5. justjames44

    It REALLY made me tear up. Thanks so much!! – Mark

  6. Megan

    What a very special gift!

  7. Connie Campbell

    I need to stop reading your blogs
    …they make me cry like a baby!
    I lost my Jacob at 5 1/2 hours old and before he came into my life and left so suddenly, I was blessed with three children…I chose! I chose to be their mommy and I will never stop being there mom no matter how old they get! Most people don’t know that my wonderful husband and I don’t have any children that are ours…but yet all four are OURS!
    God has blessed you and Mark with these two children and I am so happy for the two of you!

  8. Leah

    This post gave me goosebumps! That is a very precious gift and something that your kids can grow up looking at, and they can know how many people already care so much for them!!

Leave a Reply

