Ethiopia Travel Vaccinations

The other day it was shots, shots, shots for us.  And not the purple hooter shooter kind.

You can get travel vaccinations from your doctor, but it is much cheaper to get them from your county health department.   They were still $600 for the both of us, so I don’t want to imagine what they cost from the doctor.  The health department has pretty limited hours, but luckily Mark and I can both work from home. We made the trek to Liberty over what was supposed to be a late lunch.

We were told to get to our 1:00 appointment around 12:30. Mark We were not happy to be kept waiting – notice how the clock on the wall is about 10 minutes behind.

When we finally did get called back, we were taken into what looked like a typical doctor’s office.  A sweet Latino nurse went over our records and what vaccinations we would be getting:  Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, Yellow Fever, Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Polio, and Typhoid.   It would be five sticks.  In addition, we need to get malaria pills from our doctors.  For some reason we can’t get them through the health department.  After too much discussion about basic travel safety precautions, it was finally time to get down to business.

Mark volunteered me to go first.  I give blood regularly and do not get particularly nervous around needles, but the first stick hurt more than I anticipated.  It made me feel a little light-headed ,which I guess is not a good thing to tell a nurse after a shot.  She made me lay down and drink a Capri Sun, and she gave Mark a folder and told him to fan me, which he did in between taking horrible pictures of me.   It was all quite hilarious.  The rest of the shots were also a little painful, but I survived.

Mark was next.  He tried to act tough, but he told me afterwards that they hurt.

When we were done, I called my mom (who is a pediatric nurse and gives vaccinations regularly) and told her she was a mean lady.  For the rest of the day and into the next, our arms and shoulders were very sore.  It was a muscle soreness similar to what it feels like after a really tough work out.  Mark said it hurt to type the next day and had to find a sub for his softball game.   But after a day or two the pain was gone and we were good to go.  Now if only they would let us travel!!

1 Comment

Filed under Adoption Process, Just for Fun, Preparing for Kids

One response to “Ethiopia Travel Vaccinations

  1. I’m so glad the shots are under your belt (under your skin?) One more thing off the list! I must say, I had a laugh at your pictures. The first one of Mark looks about how happy Edward is when he has to wait. The second one of Mark is how I used to look before a shot. The one of you is how I looked after, except a slightly more greenish-purple color. (I do better now – thankfully! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

