Sweet Sweet Sounds- 15 Week Appt

The first time someone called our little one ornery, s/he was negative 25 weeks old.

Today we had our 15-week appointment.  We didn’t have to wait long before the nurse called us back.  After getting my weight and blood pressure, she pulled out the doppler to listen to the heartbeat.

It had been four weeks since we had last seen the doctor.  I have been feeling great.  No nausea, no cramping, not that tired anymore….I don’t really even feel pregnant.  Which is great, as long as everything is okay.  We had been looking forward to this appointment- to hearing the heartbeat- to make sure this hasn’t all been some crazy dream.

She rubbed the doppler on my stomach, and while we heard a lot of noise, we did not hear a heartbeat.  She rubbed some more.  Nothing.  This went on for a couple minutes.  She left the room to get another doppler.

I grabbed Mark’s hand.  I knew this wasn’t totally uncommon, but I was scared out of my mind.  After everything we have been through, I’m not sure I could handle something tragic happening with this pregnancy.

She got back with the second doppler.  Still nothing.  She went lower.  Nothing.

Our hearts sunk.

But then- sweet sweet beats!  The best sound I have heard in my life!  The three of us- Mark, myself, and the nurse- all let out deep sighs.  She explained that s/he had been moving a lot, and then she called the baby ornery.

If our baby is ornery at negative 25 weeks old, do we have any hope?!

4 Comments

Filed under Baby

4 responses to “Sweet Sweet Sounds- 15 Week Appt

  1. Megan

    I see a gymnast in your future!!! 🙂

  2. Connie

    Maybe you should name her Hope!

  3. anne

    pretty sure this one is going to keep you on your toes for life.

  4. Jennifer Henderson

    Exact same thing happened to me at my 13 week appt! Scary. Ours has been called ornery and one sonographer referred to him as “the reason I go home and drink at night” when she was trying to get the pictures she needed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

