Insurance Makes Zero Sense

Today I am hopping mad.

When we visited the midwife earlier this week, our copay was higher than I expected it to be.  I thought there was a mistake and put it on my list of things to look into.  Today I got the chance to look into it and realized I was the one who was mistaken.

Now, we really have very good insurance and I realize a lot of people don’t.  We realize we are very blessed.  But this whole concept really bugs me.

With either an OB or a midwife, we are responsible for the first $X in expenses and then insurance pays 100%.  But with an OB, we pay a one-time copay of $20 for the visits.  For a midwife, we pay a $40 copay each and every visit.  I figure that, including this week’s visit, I will have about nine visits…more if I deliver much past my due date.  That is $360 in copays that we have with a midwife that we wouldn’t have with an OB.  I think that is the dumbest thing I have ever heard.

Take insurance out of it and midwives are way cheaper than OBs.  I can’t find good numbers online, but it looks like they are generally about 33% less expensive than an OB.  So why the heck would insurance companies incentivize people not to use them???  Actually, in my case, it is not the insurance company.  It is the actual company I work for.  Now I just need to find out who specifically made this half-brained decision so I can give them a piece of my mind.

3 Comments

Filed under Birth Options

3 responses to “Insurance Makes Zero Sense

  1. Larry

    We paid 2800$. Total.

  2. Carrie

    Curious as to what HR says. This would tick me off too.

  3. insurance/hospital billing is one of the most confusing things ever. i really wanted to do a homebirth but didn’t because there were too many unknowns with insurance, which is a crappy reason but true. i feel your pain!

Leave a Reply

