Midpoint Sonogram and Research Hospital

When Nugget was negative 25 weeks old, the nurse called him ornery.

Today, at negative 18 weeks old, the tech called her rowdy.

Something tells me this will be an interesting child.

Today we had our sonogram.  Women typically have a sonogram around 20 weeks, but I was a couple weeks late due to switching providers and the holidays.  I get incredibly nervous leading up to these appointments.  I’ve known people who have found out horrible things at this sonogram.  Things like their child’s spine is not developing correctly, or that their heart doesn’t have four chambers, or that there is too much or too little amniotic fluid.  Scary things.  Things that change your life forever.  I know these things are rare, but I am keenly aware of how many things can go wrong during a pregnancy or delivery.  I don’t think I’ll ever really feel okay until I have a healthy baby in my arms.

Thankfully, none of my fears were founded.  Everything looked normal!  Nugget is a little over a pound and moves like crazy.  If you place your hand on my stomach and wait patiently at any given time, you are almost guaranteed to feel him moving.  She moves like crazy!  I can feel it almost constantly; it’s like I have a little tag-along buddy.  During the sonogram was no exception.  That little baby was moving all over the place!  The tech had a hard time getting a good picture.  We took home a few, but they’re even more indistinguible than most sono pics.  We clearly saw the feet, the spine, the heart, and the umbilical cord.  She didn’t check for gender, and much to Mark’s and my mom’s disappointment, they didn’t see anything on accident.  I wish you could get sonograms every week; I will never get over how cool they are.  I could look at that little wiggly image all day.

After we left, my mom, the husband, and I all went our separate ways…and then I remembered I wanted to tour the maternity ward.  Most of our appointments are at the midwives Northland office, but the sonogram was at Research Hospital.  This is where we’ll deliver, and I wanted to see what I should expect.

I didn’t even know this hospital existed before I started preparing for this birth.  When I tell people I’m delivering here, I often get an interesting look and am told that it’s in the ghetto.  I could seriously care less about that.  I have zero desire to live my life in the comfortable bubble of surburbia.  But I was also a little nervous about what the rooms would be like.  I don’t need or want gold-plated walls and marble floors, but I also don’t want roaches hiding in the corner.

I had nothing to worry about.  Apparently you’re not supposed to just go and expect to be shown around; you’re supposed to book a tour.  A very nice nurse took pity on me and led me down the halls.  The delivery rooms are incredibly nice and large.  With their nice wood floors and big jacuzzi birthing tubs, you could tell they had been recently remodeled.  The recovery rooms were older and sort of drab- bring me some colorful fresh flowers if you visit!  Overall, I was happy with the hospital and hope it will be at least four months before I visit again!

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, Birth Options

3 responses to “Midpoint Sonogram and Research Hospital

  1. Connie

    I am so happy for you and Mark! Have you thought about (or know about) 3 d ultrasound? It shows exactly what your baby will look like facial features and all! I hear they cost a couple of hundred dollars! We never got one with any of our grandkids! Research is a good hospital! A friend of mine had her baby there! The care was great! Glad your ultrasound shows everything is fine! Here’s to a healthy happy baby boy or girl!

  2. I delivered Riley at Research and was treated like a queen! They have a top notch nicu and the staff there are wonderful. If I were ever to have another child I’d pick Research. They are wonderful.

  3. OH! And I delivered in my room. It was a huge suite. AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

