Natural Homemade Face Wash

As with all my natural living recipes, I did not come up with this one on my own.  I get an idea for what I want to make, then scour the internet for hours to find something that is simple and not too expensive.  Sometimes I really like the first thing I try and don’t make many changes.  Other times I keep the basic recipe but do a lot of tweaks to make it work for me.  Sometimes I don’t like it at all and start completely over.

I had to start completely over when making my own body wash.  My first try was simple, but the result was a really runny mixture that did not suds at all.  I threw it away.  I haven’t tried another recipe yet, but I have some that you sent me that I’m anxious to put to use.

However, all was not lost because when I was searching for body wash recipes I came across some for face wash.  I still had plenty of my normal face wash, but this article intrigued me enough to try it out.

And I fell in love.

This face wash is so easy and so effective.  I realize my skin is not completely normal now due to pregnancy, but I really like this stuff.  It feels like I am pampering myself, and it could not be easier.  The article calls for just two ingredients, castor oil and sunflower or extra virgin olive oil.  I also like to add a few drops of tea tree oil.

What are these oils and why would you use oil on your skin?

Castor Oil is a fatty acid vegetable oil derived from the castor bean.  You can find it in the laxative aisle for about $5/bottle.  My 7-months-pregnant self stood in the laxative section of Target for about five minutes before giving up and going to Walgreens.  That was embarrassing.  As a side note, pregnant ladies should definitely not ingest castor oil as it can cause premature labor.

Sunflower oil is the oil derived from sunflower seeds.  You can find it with the cooking oils, though you might have to look in the health section.  A big bottle is around $7.

Tea Tree oil is an essential oil from a plant whose name has way too many letters.  It is helpful for fighting acne.

It seems counter intuitive to use oils on your skin.  The article I linked above goes into much more detail than I will, but to summarize, your skin needs oil to function.  It naturally produces oil, which gets mixed with toxins and impurities.  Many commercial face washes strip that oil away, but are not as effective as they could be because 1. people generally prefer oil-free versions, so they are water based.  Water and oil don’t mix.  Oil dissolves oil.  2.  The natural oils are all stripped away. The skin then remains dry or goes into overdrive to replace the lost oil.

This method is designed to clear out the toxins and impurities while stimulating good oil production.  The blend you make will depend on your skin type.  If you have normal skin, try 1 part castor oil to 4 parts sunflower/evo oil.  If your skin is oily, use more castor oil and less sunflower/evo oil.  If your skin is dry, use more sunflower/evo oil and less castor oil.  Make small amounts the first few times until you find a formula that works for you.  Add a few drops of tea tree oil (optional) to help fight acne and shake well.

To use, put about a quarter size amount on your hand and rub it on your dry face.  Rub for about a minute.  Then put a hot washcloth over your face.  Take a few deep breaths- the hot washcloth will steam your pores.  This should feel REALLY good.  When the washcloth cools, wipe your face and blot dry.  This is also an excellent make-up remover and moisturizer- I went from three steps (make up removal, wash, moisturize) to one when I started using this stuff.  Also, I only use it at night.  I find I don’t need it in the morning.

I got this little spray bottle for 97 cents, but I don’t like it.  It doesn’t have a mist option.  Misting my face with this oil mix would only make it more heavenly.

Tea Tree oil not pictured

Short recipe:

  • Castor Oil
  • Sunflower Oil or Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Tea Tree Oil (optional)

For balanced skin, mix together 1 part castor oil and 4 parts sunflower/evo oil.  For oily skin, increase castor oil and decrease sunflower/evo oil.  For dry skin, increase sunflower/evo oil and decrease castor oil.  Add a few drops of tea tree oil.

Massage a quarter sized amount onto a dry face.  Place a hot washcloth over your face and steam pores, then wipe clean.

That’s all my natural cleaners- for now!  I’ve really enjoyed getting recipes from you all, and if I try them, like them, and use them successfully for several months I’ll share with everyone.  Next I’ll share what I do with my dog food and then it will be back to normal.

3 Comments

Filed under Natural Living

3 responses to “Natural Homemade Face Wash

  1. Hi! I just started going green, natural, homemade everything this last week. What fun! And so inexpensive. I just found your article, and can’t wait to try it! Wanted to share an exfoiliator I found a few days ago… I was skeptical of the oil methods, too, and just wanted to second that it really does work! I have premature aging and acne prone skin. This exfoilator you simply mix 4 tsp of salt with 3 tsp olive oil, and you have a few days worth of the scrub. Its sugests for acne prone to use every night for a wk, then 2-3 times a wk, then just once a wk regularly. Something about the olive oil rebalancing the natural oil balance and the salt opening the pores and cleansing. I’ve used it for 3 days, and it is AMAZING the difference! My skin looks younger and clearer, and my husband keeps raving about how soft it is! I’ve even been using the scrub on my body. Makes an amazing pedicure buddy, but works best in a warm bath. I also find that I don’t need it in the morning, either. MUCH better than store bought!!!! I’ll never go back! And at pennies per batch, it sure beats the $10+ on everything at the store that only ALMOST worked.

  2. Pingback: Pinterest Challenge: Spring 2013 | A Slice of Mudpie

  3. Pingback: Natural Homemade Face Wash... - AllDIYIdeas.comDIY Ideas

Leave a Reply

