New Born Baby Nerves

As my due date draws nearer, I can’t help but reflect on the things I am nervous about.  We spent a lot of time thinking about getting pregnant, and now the pregnancy is almost over.  I’m just starting to realize that I’m not going to be pregnant forever and that I’m actually going to have a baby in a few weeks- or a few days!  That sort of freaks me out.

I know we’re going to be good parents.  Nugget is already lucky.  S/he already has more love, support, things, and security in his life than some kids will ever know.  I’m not sure you’re ever really fully prepared to become a first-time parent, but we are as prepared as we could possibly be.  Not nervous about that.

The first thing I’m nervous about is the actual birth itself.  Not the pain, but the things that can go wrong.  At this point it’s easy to think that we’re home free, but a healthy baby is not a guarantee at the end of this.  I know the chances of anything going horrifically bad are slim to none, but I’ve also learned that unexpected things happen.  And when it comes to growing our family, unexpected things tend to happen a lot.

I’m a little worried about the husband passing out during delivery.  He has a weak stomach.  He is my only support during this time, and I will be relying on him heavily.  If dad goes down, momma might go down too.  No pressure, honey! 🙂

I’m nervous for the transition after birth.  Babies breastfeed every 2-3 hours, and even if you’re going to be pumping it’s best not to introduce the bottle until after the baby has the hang of breastfeeding.  This typically takes about six weeks.  That means for up to six weeks, I will be the one- the only one- able to feed my baby.  That means that for up to six weeks, my life will completely, 100% revolve around baby.  I’m not sure how that’s going to go.  I mean, I’m sure it will be lovely and beautiful and full of rainbows and butterflies and I’ll just love spending time with my baby- but really.  I need me time.  I like to run errands and talk with my friends and veg out every now and then.  I’m a go-er and a do-er.  I like my independence and my flexibility, and I know that’s going to change for awhile.  I’m not sure how I’ll handle that.  Especially as the rest of the world keeps on spinning.

Going right along with that, I’m not sure how I’m going to handle my free time. I’m not completely sure how much time I’ll have off work, but it will be at least ten weeks.  I know I’m very lucky to have that much time off.  But what am I going to do for 10 weeks with a baby?  I’m scared I’m going to get lonely and bored.  Someone told us that during this time, she felt a significant sense of accomplishment if she took a shower that day.  A shower!  I usually have 14,284 things on my daily to do list.  A shower is not going to feel like an accomplishment to me.  If that and milking and poop-wiping are all I do day after day for ten weeks, I’m going to go nuts.  I know, I know, this is a good opportunity to slow down and appreciate and cherish the time home with baby.  I get that.  And maybe I’ll feel completely different when that’s the life I’m living.  But for now, I think that’s going to be a hard time for me.

If we can just get through the birth and the first few months home with baby, we’ll be golden.  Any tips from those of you who have been through this before?

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, Preparing for Kids

3 responses to “New Born Baby Nerves

  1. Allison

    It’s totally normal to be anxious about taking care of a new baby. I was very nervous, but when Collin arrived I felt like I had been given a very important job and I was happy to spend every moment with him. All those things that seemed important before the baby are not important anymore. There were days I was lucky to get a shower but I wouldn’t trade those days for anything! You will look back one day and think wow I did it. I’m not going to say it was easy but it was worth it. You are going to be an amazing mommy Jayme. Everything will fall into place when you hold nugget in your arms. Plus you have so many friends and family to help you through it. You can always call me anytime day or night if you ever need anything.

  2. There are several great breastfeeding support groups up north that can help break up your week while you’re on maternity leave. I like to be out and about too and took both the boys to these groups within a few days (partly because I needed the help for poor latching). I hope breastfeeding goes smoothly for you. I had a rough go with both of mine but there’s lots of good support and information out there if you know how to find it. My advice to you today: Get in and out of your car as much as possible and savor every moment you are getting in and out without a diaper bag, carseat, baby/toddler, sippee cup, snacks, etc! So excited for you!

  3. Eva

    Get out and get out often! I started leaving with Porter as soon as I healed from my C-section. Even if its just running errands. The more often and the sooner you do it, the better you get at it. It is actually pretty easy in the beginning bc all they do is sleep! Make sure you bring an extra outfit for those potential blowouts haha! At least you will have spring in your favor. Porter was born last January in the midst of all those blizzards!

    If your baby latches easily I don’t see anything wrong with letting Daddy bottle feed to not only give you a break, but to strengthen their bond. Porter breastfed like a champ, so Rob bottle fed him in the first week and he never had any confusion.

    You can still be productive (besides just showering daily), you just have to plan 5 steps ahead and manage your time wisely. I used my free time to learn how to sew and I must admit I may have went a little overboard with it as I now have stockpiles of handmade gifts large enough for a small army!

    Hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

