Hello, Due Date

April 3, 2012.

Today is the day we have been counting down towards since we found out I was pregnant in August.

Here I sit, still pregnant.  And I’m okay with that.  In fact, I have really been enjoying the slow pace my life has taken.  My awesome boss is letting me work from home until the baby comes.  I’ve been getting lots of sleep and spending lots of time with the hubby.  I’ve been taking a bath almost every night and walking the pups 2-3 times a day.  I can deal with this for a bit longer.

At the same time, we are ready.  We’re ready in the physical sense in that the hospital bags are packed and the car seats are installed.  We’re ready to meet this little creature I’ve been carrying around for nine months- Ready to know if it’s a she or a he, ready to see what s/he looks like and if they have hair.  Ready to welcome the child we started trying to have three years ago.

And at the same time, we’re nervous.  Nervous that something will go wrong and we won’t have a healthy baby- or something will go horribly wrong and we won’t have a baby at all.  I’m nervous for the pain.  Nugget is still facing the wrong way (s/he’s posterior, which means they are facing my front instead of my back.  You can deliver this way, but it is VERY painful.)  It was easy for me to picture birth as natural and beautiful and wonderful when birth was far away.  Now that labor can start at any moment, those thoughts don’t come quite as easily.  We’re nervous for the sleep deprivation and the adjustment period.  We’re nervous.

I see the midwife every Friday.  This past Friday she said I was not showing any early signs of labor and that she would not be surprised if the baby was several days late.  They will let me go two weeks late before inducing.  I REALLY don’t want to be induced, so if that time gets close I will be jumping on some trampolines and doing some horseback riding.   For reals.

On an only somewhat related note, have I mentioned that there’s a good possibility that we’ll be moving?  In seven or eight weeks?  There are a lot of details that need to be worked out between now and then, but we have a friend who lives nearby and has way too much space that she doesn’t use.  We desperately need space.  It’s looking more and more like a little house flip would be beneficial to both of us.  We would both keep ownership of our places, but rent to each other.  If this ends up happening, I’m no longer worried about being bored on maternity leave.

Sorry for that random thought.  It’s a bit weird knowing that  life is about to change forever, and being prepared for that at all times, but never really knowing when it’s going to happen.  For now, we’re just trying to enjoy all the little things that we won’t get to enjoy again for awhile.

By the way, it’s supposed to storm tonight/tomorrow… I hear sometimes the air pressure changes cause women to go into labor? 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Just for Fun

2 responses to “Hello, Due Date

  1. I was 6 days over my due date with Cooper and 10 with Colin. I ended up getting pitocin with both for different reasons but it wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Your midwives know what they’re doing and I believe they have your best interest at heart. Trust them and the knowledge you’ve gained from Melanie and your own research and you will do great! I know I don’t know you that well but your journey resonates with me so much that I can’t help but cheer you on. I hope you put a blog out soon with the news of boy or girl, and your birth story. My thoughts are with you!

  2. judy

    gETTING IT ON USUALLY WORKS!

Leave a Reply

