No Baby Yet

My weekly midwife appointment generally takes 20 minutes or less.  Today it took nearly 2 hours.  *Note to self- don’t schedule any more appointments over lunch.

When I laid back to be measured, my stomach was really sticking up in the air in a funny position.

Midwife and Husband: WHOA!

Me: Why’s it doing that?

Midwife: That’s a contraction!

Me: Is it bad that I can’t feel that?

Midwife:  No!  That’s heaven!

So, apparently I am having contractions.

From there, she checked to see if I was dilated…and I wasn’t.  Not even a little bit.

She asked how long I was willing to go before induction.  I told her that I really did not want to be induced; that I was comfortable and was happy being pregnant as long as the baby is healthy.

She told me that she doesn’t want to induce, but that I need to start getting over my fear of that in case it becomes necessary.

Sigh.

We talked about things I can do to speed things along.  Walking, primrose oil, sex, squats, stairs, etc.  The problem?  I’m already doing all of those things.

I decided that I think my due date is wrong.  Due dates are based on a 28-day-cycle, on conception occurring around day 14.  My cycles have always been long, so I think my due date was at least 3-4 days too early.  We brought this up and she thought that was very possible.

Next we went to another room, where they hooked me up to a machine that measured my contractions, the baby’s heart beat, and the movements I felt.  The chair hurt my back and I quickly grew bored with this.  We did learn that I am having weak contractions about every 4-5 minutes, so that was a surprise.  I was so ready to be done with this that Mark unhooked the straps and I sat up before they came back, smearing the gel all over my pants and the bands.  Ooops. 🙂

So from here, we continue to wait.  It doesn’t look like Nugget is going to make her debut in the next couple of days, though we could be in for a surprise.  I am going to start going in for visits twice a week now.  Next week I go on Monday and Thursday.  I am going to go to their main office (I usually go to one close to my house), where they can do more testing and monitor the fluid levels to make sure the little sugar is doing okay.

Thank you to everybody who has asked how we’re doing, volunteered to bring us food or help with the dogs, or just checked in with us over the past week!  It means a lot to us.  Honestly, I am feeling great and am quite content, but as the days tick by I do get more and more excited to meet this little person!

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Preparing for Kids

2 responses to “No Baby Yet

  1. sengerson

    excited for you guys 🙂

  2. Sara Pederson

    Chin up! Remember just as mamas can walk around at 4cm for weeks mamas can go into labor with no dilation. I went over with my 2 little girls and what helped me was to plan things a week out, plan “last outtings” with Mark etc. It helps to bide time. Do last minute things, I know the last few months have all been last minute things, but these may be your last moments pregnant, enjoy them! Especially if you are not horribley uncomfortable!

Leave a Reply

