My Dog Hooch

Hi there.  I’ve missed you.

I have a lot of posts swirling around in my head.  Posts about how our move went, mommy things I’ve learned in the past few weeks, new natural things I’m trying, and what’s next with our adoption.  Not necessarily in that order.  But those posts aren’t quite ready, so for now I want to tell you about my dog Hooch.

Hooch is a Boston Terrier-Chihuahua-Daschund mutt.  If you’ve met him, you know one thing about him.

He is obsessed with his ball.

Seriously obsessed.  That little blue ball is all he lives for.

We only play with blue racquetballs.  We’ve experimented with lots of different kinds of balls.  He chews apart most balls.  He chews the fuzz off of tennis balls.  Green and red and purple racquetballs puncture too quickly.  But the blue racquetballs, they last.  I usually shop at Target, but they only carry green balls.  I have to make a special WalMart trip a few times a year just to buy blue balls.

Hooch thinks the only function of human hands is to throw his ball.  He will set it in front of you and then look from you to the ball and back again.  If you don’t throw it, he will move it closer and closer until it is sitting on top of your hand.  If you tell him NO in a very firm voice, he will put his ears down and very slowly walk away.  It’s so pathetic that you almost can’t help but throw the ball then.  I think that’s part of his plan.

Hooch takes very good care of his balls.  When the lights go out at night, he puts it under the dresser.  The dresser sits so low to the ground that not even he can get it out.  In the morning, he lies in front of the dresser until someone retrieves the ball for him.  If no one gets it, he will lie there for hours.  I am not exaggerating.

Hooch never tires of fetching- one throw of the ball signals a long term commitment.  The only time you even have a prayer is if it is very, very hot outside.  Even then, you the ball thrower might get a few minutes for a water break, not an end to the fetching.

He’s pretty talented, too.  If I had the desire and time, I would pursue training and get him into some agility contests.  I’m sure he’d do well- check out these skills:

Here’s to you, Hooch.  You drive me crazy with your endless fetching, but I secretly love it.

1 Comment

Filed under Just for Fun

One response to “My Dog Hooch

  1. SandySays1

    This message is for Hooch – Ruff-ruff, arf, grrrrr, woof-woof. Human translation from the Doganese – Good job Hooch! You’re training your humans right! Sandy http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

