My Grandma’s Gift

We have been so blessed by our loved ones’ generosity since our little guy has been born.  We have been given yummy meals, free baby-sitting, adorable clothes, practical diapers, precious books, home made treasures, soft stuffed animals, and lots of great (and some not-so-great) advice.  We have felt so lucky to bring our baby into a world surrounded by so much love.

But every now and then, a gift comes along that truly touches your heart.  We got one of those today.

The hubby had free suite tickets to the Royals, so little man and I were on our own all day.  We decided to make a trip to my home town to see some of our favorite people, including my Grandma.  My Grandma is a special lady.  She’s in her upper 80s and although her body isn’t as strong as it used to be, she’s sharp as a tack.  I treasure our multiple-times-per-week phone chats and am so thankful for the family she has built and the example she has set.  She hasn’t had an easy life.  The love of her life died at a young age, leaving her with a farm and four young children- one with special needs.  Now that I am a mother, I can appreciate that even more than I did before!  I can’t imagine how difficult that must have been.  It’s hard being a momma to one with a husband and no farm!  She eventually had one more child, but raised all five of them by herself.  I have never heard her complain or speak an ill word of anyone, and that is something I have tried to embrace in my own life- though I fail every day.

Anyway, when I was visiting today she gave me a gift her brother, my great-uncle, made:

He carved it from a slab of wood!  As I looked at this beautiful gift, I kept noticing more and more things.  It’s incredibly intricate; I can’t even begin to imagine how long it takes to make these works of art.  I know this will be something that is treasured in our family for a long time to come.

Thanks Grandma, for the wood carving and for being you.

2 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun

2 responses to “My Grandma’s Gift

  1. Megan

    Wow! That is so beautiful. What a talent he has! Something to truly be treasured! Miss you!

  2. That’s is BEAUTIFUL!!! Such a treasure for sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

