Cloth Diapering Part 3

I started a post about cloth diapering but it got to be way to long- so Part 1 focused on cloth diapering overall and Parts 2 and 3 focus on my specific experiences with it.  There is a TON of information out there about cloth diapering and these posts will just skim the surface.  The internet can be really overwhelming on this subject.  I’m by no means an expert, but if you want to chat further about this, send me a message and I’ll tell you what I know or point you to someone who can help!

I started cloth diapering when my little guy was about six weeks old.  I truly just wanted to give it a try- I wasn’t set on doing it like I am some things.  However, it didn’t take me long to fall in love with it.  There was just one minor annoyance- disposing of the wipes.  When I finished with the diaper, I would just throw it in the bag (more on that in a bit).  Then I would have to find a trashcan to throw away the wipe.  Sometimes a trash can was nearby so it wasn’t a big deal; other times it was annoying.  I didn’t plan to use cloth wipes when I started, but I soon realized it would be easier for me to do this.

There are plenty of cloth wipes options made from luxurious organic natural materials.  I don’t use those.  I had a bunch of baby washcloths from showers and such…way more washcloths than I could use as washcloths.  These became my wipes.  I just keep a basket of them at each changing station.  I made a very complicated solution- I filled a small spray bottle about 3/4 of the way with water, then added small amounts of castile soap, sunflower oil, tea tree oil, and lavender oil.  The oils are soothing on the skin and the tea tree has antifungal properties.  I spray the washcloth wipe, use it like a normal wipe, then throw it in the bag with the diaper.  Easy peasy.

Instead of a diaper pail, I use one of the most wonderful inventions on Earth- the wet dry bag.  I like the ones by Planet Wise, but I haven’t tried the other brands.  I have a giant one in the nursery and several smaller ones at other changing stations, for daycare, and for on-the-go.  The bag has two pockets.  I use the outside pocket to store diapers and other baby items.  The inside pocket is lined with waterproof material that holds in smells.  When I have a dirty diaper I just put it in the inside pocket, zip it close, and then throw the whole bag in the wash at the end of the day (after emptying the diapers out).  After about 3 months of usage, the bags still look brand new.  I bought one to put in the diaper bag, but I liked it so much I just started using it AS my diaper bag.  And there are lots of cute designs!  I love that when we’re done diapering, we’ll be able to use these bags for the pool or gym.  Even if you’re not cloth diapering, these bags are fabulous.

Planet Wise Owls- One of many adorable designs

So that’s our experience with cloth diapering.  I was worried about the inconvenience, but it’s really not much trouble at all.  I didn’t expect to like it as much as I do.  If you’re considering cloth diapering and want to talk about it, shoot me a message!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Baby, Natural Living

One response to “Cloth Diapering Part 3

  1. taurusmom18

    I just started CDing recently and I love it more and more. I have to be careful not to let it get as expensive as disposables! HAHA! I have another girl on the way so even if I splurge here and there on a print/brand I love they are gonna be used on two girls. I need to make a solution for my wipes, I am using up the disposable ones first but I HATE needing a separate place to put them when changing. Now to learn how to use a sewing machine to make my own wipes and diapers…
    http://taurusmom18.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

