I’m Having a Party and You’re Invited!

You might have noticed I haven’t been blogging as much lately.

Or maybe you haven’t.  Whatever.

But I haven’t been, and not because I’m giving y’all the cold shoulder.  It’s because I’ve been in PARTY PLANNING mode!

You see, I turn 30 in just a few short weeks.  I’m not one who usually likes to celebrate my birthday. For my 29th, the hubs and I went on nature trail walk and went out to eat, where I got a $10 salad.  Exciting stuff.

But this year…this year I’m 30.  And that’s kind of a big deal.  And I would like you, yes you, to come help me celebrate!!

You might say ,“But Jayme, I barely know you!  I mean, I like your blog and all, but we’re not really friends.”

I don’t care.  Come help me celebrate anyways!

Because there’s more to my party than looking for my gray hairs or seeing how many wrinkles I have.  Much more.

You might know that the husband and I volunteer with refugees, and that it has totally changed our lives.  We have been so blessed to get to know some of these hard-working special people.  We have learned that most of the local children go to school in the Kansas City Public School District, which requires a uniform.  And refugees can’t exactly afford uniforms, because, oh you know, they just moved here out of a WAR ZONE perhaps?

So this awesome agency called Jewish Vocational Services helps the refugees with many things, including uniforms.  But JVS, like most nonprofits, doesn’t exactly have a ginormous budget, and the school uniform part of that budget usually operates in the red.

refugees

This is where my party comes in.  It will be Sunday, September 1st (Monday is Labor Day) , 6:00 PM at Snow & Co.  Have you been to Snow & Co?  It’s pretty amazing.  That is, if you like homemade local food.  Or frozen drinks that don’t taste like corn syrup.  Or lemonade made with fresh lemons.  Or the Crossroads district.  Or drinking in a chic environment by open garage doors.  Yeah, it’s pretty cool.

It will cost $15 to go to the party, which will cover appetizers and a donation to JVS.  Buy your tickets ahead of time if at all possible.

But here is where I really need your help, even if you can’t come to the par-tay.

The party is also going to feature a silent auction.  Which, between me and you, I am kind of freaking out about because the party is getting kind of close and I only have two things for the auction.  So please help!?  I need any goods or services that people might want to bid on.  Things like:

  • New items you have around the home that you don’t want but someone else might!
  • Services- Spa, Landscaping, Computer Repair, Catering, Baking, Oil Changes, Music Lessons, etc
  • Goods- Do you make crafts?  Do you sell Scentsy, 31 bags, etc?
  • Company Donations- I would be your friend forever if you hit up a company you’re a loyal customer with and ask them for donations.  Or, what about the company you work for, or a vendor you do business with?

If you can help secure an item or four for the silent auction, I will be forever indebted to you.  You can contact me at Jayme.Miller@Yahoo.com.  Here are some marketing materials I have that you are free to use:

I also have a separate website for the party.  It is on here that you can buy tickets or even give a general donation for the cause.  Check it out here!

I’m going to try not to spam my blog with info about my party and refugees, but you can expect that there will be a few posts over the next few weeks about both.

So, here’s what I really hope happens:

  • Go to the party website and buy your ticket to the event
  • Contact me and tell me what you can help with for the silent auction

Pretty please?

Leave a comment

Filed under Charity, Just for Fun

Leave a Reply

