Party Wrap Up and Exciting News!

So I’m 30 now.

Want to know some other awesome things created in 1983? How about these?

  • The Chicken McNugget
  • The Moonwalk
  • Plinko
  • Sweet Valley High
  • Hooters
  • AOL
  • Cabbage Patch Kids
  • Reading Rainbow
  • Care Bears
  • My Little Pony
  • Microsoft Word

Seriously, 1983 was pretty much the best year ever.  Turning 30 didn’t really bother me.  Just another year.

On Sunday we had a big party to celebrate, and more importantly, to raise money for my favorite charity, Jewish Vocational Services.  JVS, among other things, supports refugees in Kansas City and they really needed money to buy refugee students school uniforms (which are required by the KCMO district).  So I charged my friends money for the privilege of hanging out with me, and then tricked them into buying items that I tricked other people into giving me.

party

And I might have bought a dress that was a little shorter and a little tighter than I usually wear, and I might have even worn it with heels, but hey it’s my 30th and I figured I could do what I wanted.

I love event planning, but every time an event is over I have trouble focusing on the positive.  I keep thinking about things I should have done differently or things I forgot, and this party was no exception.  But I had to tell myself to shut up because by all accounts, the event was a huge success!  We had lots of great silent auction items, a pretty decent turn out, and while I’m still waiting on a few things to come through, WE RAISED ABOUT $2,800!!!!

You guys!!!  That is phenomenal!!  Thank you so much!  Thank you!  Thank you especially to:

  • Snow and Co– The bar that hosted our event.  They told me an hour before start time that they were going to donate the appetizers we had been planning on paying for, which meant more money for JVS.  Awesome!  They were great hosts.
  • Every person or business that donated an auction item-  Really there are too many to list.  Here are some:  Cruise Holidays.  Sprint.  Schlitterbahn.  KC Royals.  KC Chiefs.  Itsy Bitsy Bums.  KC Zoo.  Omaha Zoo.  Powell Gardens.  Parkville Mini Golf.  Pizza Shoppe.  Candlewood Suites.  Entercom.  Sengerson Photography.  Brynn Whitney Photography.  And many individuals.  Support these businesses!!  Thank you, thank you, thank you.
  • To all that came or donated- I loved getting to catch up and spend time with those who made it in person.  I so appreciate the people who couldn’t come but still supported the cause (it’s not too late!).  You guys rock!!

Yes, it was a lot of fun and I am so thankful that I could use my birthday as an excuse to fundraise for my favorite charity.

Oh, and I also used the event as an excuse to tell our loved ones some big news, some news that’s going to make 30 memorable:

I’m pregnant again.  Due March 23rd.

And two days after we found out about the pregnancy we got a call from the adoption agency with a referral of two kiddos.

I have lots more to tell you about this- you might as well come back every night for the next few nights to see how this all unfolds….

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Charity

2 responses to “Party Wrap Up and Exciting News!

  1. Dana

    Oh my!! I can’t wait to hear more. I will be stalking the blog for the rest of this story.

  2. I will also be stalking this blog… congratulations one way or another 🙂

Leave a Reply

