Ethiopian Adoption Court Trip: Day Seven

Originally written November 22

This morning we went to the Hilton.  It is about the only place we’ve found with reliable Internet access.  We spent a little time getting caught up on things before heading over to the transition house around 12:30.

I was not in the best of moods when we arrived.  I was tired of being dependent on others to get around.  I was tired of playing with the same electronics and the same balls inside the same four walls.  I was looking forward to spending time with the kids, but when you’re with the same kids 4-5 hours a day, and you don’t speak each other’s languages, and you can’t leave to go anywhere…it just gets old after awhile, no matter how much you love the kids.

It didn’t take long for my mood to improve.  Both kids were excited to see us today!  Our girl, who usually takes at least a few minutes to warm up, was in a great mood.  They were finishing up lunch when we arrived, and the toddlers headed off to nap soon after.  We spent 90 minutes just kicking and throwing the balls between the four of us.  Both kids seemed to really enjoy this.

Our girl found a scarf that was hanging to dry and spent what seemed like forever entertaining herself with it.  She’d wrap it around her head, her neck, cover her face with it.  She ran around for a long time with it covering her face, still able to see through the thin material.  I started chasing her and boy did she LOVE that.  When I caught her, turned her upside down, and tickled her, I think she laughed more than she has in a long time!  This happened about four dozen times in a row before I had to stop to get a drink.  The nannies just looked on in disbelief.  It was so great to see this side of her; it was an important step forward for all of us.

I'm trying to figure out if I can post pictures since we passed court- I'm not sure.  But I'm making the judgement call that this is okay since there are no identifying features....so here it is, the first public photo of our kids :)

I’m trying to figure out if I can post pictures since we passed court- I’m not sure. But I’m making the judgement call that this is okay since there are no identifying features….so here it is, the first public photo of our kids 🙂

Later we got out the nail polish.  Let’s just say she doesn’t have a future as a nail technician and that I hope nobody notices my purple fingers.

We spent some time over the past two days working on language.  I’ve been told not to worry about this but it’s hard not to.  Our boy has about a dozen English words and our girl has less.  They lack basic comprehension.  Our boy is really great about copying what we say but doesn’t understand what it means.  For example, we’ll point to our nose and say “nose”.  Then we’ll ask “Where is your nose?”  while making the sign for “where is something?”  He’ll make the same sign and say “Where is your nose?”  That’s just one instance that has made us realize how much we’re going to have to work on not just language, but schooling as well.  He’ll start 2nd grade next spring.  I need to do some research into when is the appropriate time to start basic lessons at home, what are good worksheets or maybe preschool curriculums, etc.  Fellow adoptive parents of older kids, if you have any advice I would love to hear it!

Tomorrow is our last day and boy do I have mixed feelings about it.  Honestly, I don’t love this country as much as I thought I would.  The people are beautiful inside and out, no doubt.  But I have learned that I like my creature comforts a little more than I care to admit!  I am ready to get home and back to my normal life, but it just doesn’t seem fair that we get to do it while these kids have to stay behind.

1 Comment

Filed under First adoption trip

One response to “Ethiopian Adoption Court Trip: Day Seven

  1. Amber

    I’ve loved reading your posts….and I happen to know you CAN post pictures now that you’ve passed court. They are yours!!!!

Leave a Reply

