Why This Natural Birthing Mama Chose Induction

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you might remember how I was all about having a natural labor with Wiggles.  To me, natural labor means that labor starts on its own, is not expected to follow a timeline, and no pain relief is given.  Back then, I did several posts on the topic- Why I decided to deliver naturally, an explanation of the different birthing methodologies and some common interventions, and what I did to prepare for a natural labor.

As Wiggles due date came and passed I was terrified to be induced.  Petrified.  I did everything they tell you to do to start labor and nothing worked.  The contractions did start, and they were painful enough to keep me awake, but they didn’t dilate me.  At 42 weeks I checked into the hospital.  That night they gave me Cervidil and were supposed to give me the dreaded evil Pitocin the next morning, but I had them hold off for awhile.  Eventually my body was so tired from 3 days of contractions that nothing was happening and I agreed to some Pitocin.  5 hours of Pitocin later I was pushing, and 2 hours after that Wiggles entered the world.

It wasn’t the most fun labor in the world.  It was really painful and long and tiring.  But it was also beautiful and I did it and I felt like a freaking rockstar afterwards.

This time around, I haven’t been as focused on the pregnancy for obvious reasons.  True, I’m delivering with the same midwife group in the same natural-birth-friendly hospital.  I have hired a doula and am planning on delivering naturally again if at all possible.  Partially because I have a tendency to make things as hard on myself as possible (for the delivery- I believe my recovery was very easy due to natural birthing) but also because I believe that’s the way babies should enter the world.  (That is not judgement if you don’t believe the same thing.  This isn’t mommy wars. I also believe in happy mamas.  Guess what?  We can disagree and still respect each other and be friends).

So a couple weeks ago when we were mulling over the best way to bring our family together and the midwife said “I know you probably don’t want to do this, but remember that induction is an option” I just kind of brushed her off.  Of course I didn’t want a scheduled induction!  Didn’t she know who she was talking to?  Did she think I would get my boob job and tummy tuck at the same time?  That pretty much goes against all my beliefs about birthing (see the links above for more about this).  I wanted an induction like I wanted a fifth kid.  In the natural labor world, a scheduled induction is an evil on par with Hitler and PBA in plastics.

But as we really started thinking about how this was all going to work, we had to keep the option open.  Out of all the options we had- try to rush to Africa as quickly as possible and pray the Embassy can see the husband while he’s there and also pray that the husband is back in time for the birth, let the husband go to Africa the week after I’m due at a high risk that he’ll miss the birth completely and I’ll be newly home at the same time the kids are newly home, wait to pick up the big kids until after this baby comes naturally at the risk of the big kids sitting there a whole ‘nother month- all the options were CRAPPY with a capital C-R-A-P-P-Y.

And induction seemed like the least crappy one.

So, I’m being induced.  Today.  I’m not exactly excited about it.  But I’m not quite dreading it like I was last time either.  It is what it is.  It’s really too bad you can’t have a baby without the whole labor and delivery part.  I mean whatever happened to storks delivering babies?!  Although I don’t think it’s an ideal way for a labor to start, it IS really nice to have a little bit of life planned after months of uncertainty.  I’m nervous about the induction and labor, but I cannot wait to meet our DAUGHTER and start the rest of our crazy lives!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Birth Options, Natural Living

Leave a Reply

