Mom of The Year: When I Almost Killed My Baby

Since I became an insta-mom I’ve become a little scatterbrained.  Okay, a lot scatterbrained.  I am always getting dates mixed up, can’t remember anything, and I even lost my wedding ring.  Before I had four kids I was super organized so I’m hoping this isn’t a permanent condition.  I’m really starting to drive myself and the husband crazy.  Oh, and my scatterbrainedness almost killed my baby.

There are a few things you should know.  First, The Baby is about 2.5 months old.  A baby is not supposed to have anything except boob milk or formula until at least four months and ideally six months.  Second, even once they start solids a baby is not supposed to have honey until they are at least twelve months old.  You’re not even supposed to cook with honey.  Third, Wiggles has been a little congested lately.  I’ve been giving him an OTC medicine that is pretty much just honey to help sooth his throat.

Can you see where this is going?

This weekend I was changing The Baby.  Wiggles started coughing like a smoker.  I thought it would be a good idea to let The Baby air out while I gave Wiggles some honey medicine.  The next thing I know, I look down and I’m using a syringe to FORCE HONEY DOWN MY BABY’S THROAT.

Cue immediate freakout.  The big kids watched dumbfounded as I frantically tried to get the honey out of her mouth and called my mom, who used to be a pediatric nurse, in a panic.  The husband started Googling and came across things like this: “Honey can contain spores of a bacterium called Clostridium botulinum, which can germinate in a baby’s immature digestive system and cause infant botulism, a rare but POTENTIALLY FATAL illness*.”  

I pretty much read that as I potentially killed my baby.  I mean I’ve screwed up as a mom before.  I’ve yelled at my kids, I’ve grabbed their arms, I’ve turned a blind eye when they start hitting each other.  But force feeding my baby honey?!  Would they press involuntary manslaughter charges against me?

My mom assured me that botulism is truly a rare illness.  I would need to watch her for symptoms including lethargy, constipation, and trouble sucking, but probably we were  okay.  This happened Sunday morning and it’s Tuesday night now.  The Baby is still alive so I think (?) we are in the clear.

This definitely has to win me a mom of the year award.

Not dead.

Not dead.

 

*Capitalization mine

Leave a comment

Filed under Mom of the Year

Leave a Reply

