Happy Birthday Husband!

Today the husband turned 32 years old.

Aging doesn’t bother me much, but he had a mid-mid life crisis when he turned 25 and hasn’t really enjoyed birthdays since.  Not even when they involve Reeses Ice Cream cakes.

Three years ago I found out I was pregnant with Wiggles right around the husband’s birthday.  To let him know, I wrapped up some Royals’ onesies and the pregnancy test.  We both cried.  It was a special moment.

This morning the husband slept in.  When he came downstairs he found his present….a Royals’ onesie and a positive pregnancy test!

The husband looked at me, his eyes wide with shock and disbelief and I think a little despair. He told me it was a prank and I assured him it was not.  He didn’t curse or throw things at me like I expected him to…instead, he embraced the craziness and told the kids there would be another baby!

And then I told him that it was all a joke…that’s a pretty good birthday present, right?!

To be honest, it’s been really hard to maintain a romantic relationship through diapers and soccer practice and spit up and day camps.  We feel like partners more than ever before, but more in the who’s-making-what-for-dinner or the who’s-picking-who-up-from-where sense than the I’m-madly-in-love-with-you sense.  The reality is, the husband is capable of wiping his own butt and getting his own bowl of cereal so he often falls to the bottom of the priority list.  But, we’re at the point in our transition where the kids are ready to be left with grandparents for an evening (we trialed this a few weeks ago successfully), so starting next week we’re going to shoot for a regular monthly date night.  We can’t wait!

1923624_567266760860_138_n

The picture above was taken at a totally different time in our lives.  We were on a cruise with some of our best friends, not a care in the world.  No responsibilities, no kids.  I loved the husband then.  A lot.  I loved his adventurous spirit and his strong opinions and his smart mind.  I loved doing date night power hours and late night happy hours.

But it doesn’t compare to now.  Not a lot of men could survive the chaos that is our everyday life, let alone embrace it.  Not a lot of men could put up with MY right strong opinions.  Not many men could balance work and family in the way he manages to.  Not a lot of men could handle four kids by themselves in order to give their wife a girls night out.  Not many men would travel halfway around the world with their mother to pick up two kids they barely know and can’t communicate with.  The husband changes diapers and changes lives.  He loves me and challenges me.  He’s a great role model for our kids and a great son to his mama.  He’s a great guy, and I’m so lucky to be his wife.

When he had his quarter life crisis life was fun and free and selfish.  Now life is sometimes fun, rarely free, never selfish.  We’re putting in hard work and long hours.  But we’re doing it together and I wouldn’t want to do it with anyone else.

Happy birthday babe!

 

 

PS Remember my birthday is in 3 weeks.  I did take notes today so here is what I want:  To sleep til 11 undisturbed, to not clean one diaper, and to not cook or clean up after one meal.  Oh, and I’ll take an Oreo ice cream cake, thank ya very much.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Just for Fun, Marriage

Leave a Reply

