How God Helped Me Find My Wedding Ring

To appreciate this story you need a little background:

The week that the kids got home I lost my wedding ring.  I take my ring off to do things like put lotion on or clean, so I wasn’t worried at all in the beginning.  But the hours of it being lost turned into days, then into weeks, and then into months.  I searched the house throughly but still no ring.  It was a source of strife between the husband and I.  Eventually I bought a fake ring.  I told myself- and the husband- that it wasn’t lost, it was just temporarily displaced, but as the months went on we both knew it was gone.

Okay, back to this story.

You know that I just quit my job.  I’m super excited but also super nervous.  I’m not convinced that I’m not making a mistake.   Last night I was praying and I said: “God, you’ve used infertility and our failed adoption to teach me to trust You even when I don’t understand.  I may not have confidence in our current state, but I know that You are by our side.  Could you please just give me a sign that everything is going to turn out all right and that quitting my job was a good decision?  Let me find my wedding ring or something.”

Now I learned in about 7th grade that making these types of deals with God is stupid.  I told myself that after the words tumbled out of my mouth.

But 10 hours later I found my ring.  In a drawer I had completely emptied multiple times looking for it.

Coincidence?  Maybe.  But I’m thanking God for this one.

1 Comment

Filed under God

One response to “How God Helped Me Find My Wedding Ring

  1. Cassie Johnson

    I LOVE this story!!!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

