Homemade Whole Wheat Pancake Mix!

Because who doesn’t love pancakes?

In order for me to cook something it has to be very very very simple the day I’m serving it. In this house, even just serving a meal that’s already prepped requires a Herculean effort, so if it’s not easy it ain’t happening.  However, I don’t mind doing a little prep work a few days or weeks before I’m ready to serve something. And that’s what makes these pancakes so freaking amazing.

I make my own dry mix and then add to it the day I make pancakes.  The mix started off from this recipe, but I’ve modified it for us.  I also double it so that I don’t have to make it as often.

So, sometime before I want to eat pancakes I mix together the dry ingredients.  I store some in a mason jar and the rest in a ziploc bag.  The mix is all shelf stable ingredients and I’ve stored it for many months, but don’t sue me if you keep it forever and then you get food poisoning or something.

IMG_0259

Then the day I want to cook it, I just add the wet ingredients and cook.

It’s a bonus when you have cute helpers.

Mac Mo

I will never be a food blogger because I didn’t take pictures of the finished product.  And also because I suck at measuring, so these measurements are just approximates. Hope you enjoy these as much as we do.

Homemade Whole Wheat Pancake Mix:

Mix together:
12 cups whole wheat flour
2/3 cup sugar
2/3 cup ground flax seed or wheat germ
4 TB baking powder
2 TB baking soda
Couple shakes of salt
Couple shakes of cinnamon

Store until ready to cook.

To cook (half recipe for 4 or less people):
Pour 2 cups of the dry mix into a bowl
Add:
2 cups of milk
2 eggs
As much vanilla as you can handle…I love vanilla.
Any yummies you’d like (chocolate chips, blueberries, bananas)
If mixture is too runny, add more flour, flax seed, or wheat germ
If mixture is too solid, add more milk

Heat and grease a skillet with butter or coconut oil
Pour a spoonful onto mix onto the skillet, repeat until you have no more room on skillet
When pancakes start to get fluffy and bubble, flip
Remove when both sides are light brown

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

