My New Years Resolutions

I’m a big believer in goal setting.  I feel fortunate to live in a country where you can more or less determine your own destiny, so every year at this time I sit back and take stock of where things are at.  I think about what’s going well that I want to continue.  I think about what needs to be improved, and I think about new things I want to do.  I then write those goals down, share them, and track them through out the year.  (Okay, I kind of suck at tracking.  But this year I will!)

In the past I have had mixed results.  Last year I had some goals that I failed miserably at (one of them was to work out 3x a week…I’m not sure I even worked out 3x in all of 2015).  I did not spend enough alone time with Smiles and I don’t think I read at least 1 book a month.  But I had some goals I kept, and even a few goals I beat!  The kids took swim lessons.  We went on date nights once a month.  I not only found a broker and closed a deal, I closed seven deals!

I use goals not as a way to beat myself up or make myself feel guilty, but as motivation to continually strive to better my situation.  If I don’t meet a goal that’s okay- I try to understand why and either work harder or adjust the goal.  For example, it is nearly impossible to find the time to work out 3x a week while working full time with 4 young kids.  Rather than just giving up, I’m adjusting that goal to do a short workout at home most days.

Anytime I start to feel sad and depressed, it’s because I find myself kind of wandering aimlessly without any clear direction of where I’m going or how I’m going to get there (or because the kids have been fighting all day.  Or because the Husband slept too late again.  Or because I ate an entire package of thin mint cookies. Or because it’s cold.  But you know know, other than that).  If you’re not sure what this year holds for you, why not take 30 minutes to think about what you want to do?  Then write it down and share it with somebody who can help hold you accountable.  Email me if you want to!

In the past I included short and long term goals, but this year I mostly focused on short term. Without further ado, here they are:

Break Phone Addiction
No checking phone before I’m even out of bed
Check Facebook/News a max of 5x a day
No phone while driving

Get Healthy
2 week cleanse with very minimal sweets, then max of 2 sweets a day
Eat at least 1 veggie every day
Work out 7 minutes a day, 5 times a week (This is serious.  Don’t laugh.  7 minutes is better than nothing!)
Keep food journal for 6 weeks or until eating habits are fixed
In bed by 11PM during the week
Walk the dogs at least 3 times a week, aim for 5
Gain 5lbs of muscle

Be a Better Mom and Wife
Get better about taking a pause before losing it on the kids
Be intentional about spending 1:1 time with each child
Continue monthly date nights
Realize when it’s time to shut up…and then actually shut up

Misc
Develop a blog routine.  Come up with a roadmap so I’m not left wondering what to blog about (email me ideas!).  Blog and schedule ahead, at least one post per week.
Go on a mini vacation!  We haven’t traveled at all for 2 years and we’re jonesing for a trip!
Be more compassionate- take time for people and make a point to remember events and dates that are important to others. (I seriously suck at this now).

So those are my goals…what are yours?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

