Virginia Beach Day Five- Boat Rental and Pictures

We woke up to alarms today, quickly changed into our swimsuits, and drove to the boat rental place.  We had a 14 passenger pontoon boat.  The worker guy rambled on for 30 minutes of instructions before we took off.  The kids were mostly excited about the muffins I brought for breakfast, which ended up making a huge mess all over the boat- but they really loved those muffins!  We drove around for a bit before stopping to swim.  My little niece wanted to get in and needed a grown up to go with her, but none of the grown ups were excited to go.  She looked at her dad with her pretty eyes just long enough that he was finally about ready to jump in when he saw a jellyfish!

Honestly, I kind of thought he made it up at first to have an excuse not to get in, but a little while later he caught the jellyfish in a net!  I have never seen a wild jellyfish before.  It was clear and hard to see, but definitely there.  Jellyfish are so gross.  I think it was dead, but I was a little worried that our 5 children were swimming in jellyfish infested water.  The kids talked about who would pee on who if someone got stung!  Luckily, our trip was jellyfish-sting free.

A little while later we got out the tube!  As a kid I LOVED tubing but haven’t been for a very long time.  Diva and my Big Niece went first.  We took it easy on them and they loved in!  Next up were Wiggles and Smiles.  We did not take it easy on them, and were shocked at how long they held on!  We named them the BA Brothers…none of them know what BA means. 😊  We spent the next couple of hours taking turns on the tube.  My kids surprised me!  Sassypants got pretty tired and wasn’t that into it.  Wiggles was so good at holding on; I was shocked at how long he lasted.  Diva, usually my adventurous one, didn’t love going fast.  Every time before her turn The Husband got a stern talking to about how he was only permitted to go slowly.  Smiles, usually my biggest wuss, LOVED it and couldn’t stop smiling.

My Little niece napped, and after she woke up my sister did tricks.

After boating we came back to the campground and took it easy for a few hours.  Sassypants napped, the other kids played in the pool.  At one point we were sitting outside talking.  My sister looked down, saw a snake by her feet, everyone looked, and we noticed it was eating a frog!  Yuck.

Tonight we headed back to the beach.  We usually do family pictures with a college friend, but since we were going to be in such a nice setting and with my family we hired a photographer to capture us here in Virginia.  In my head this was going to be a fun night.  We got there right before sunset, beautiful weather, kids all spruced up.  I thought we’d shoot pictures for a bit, say bye to my sister, then maybe go to a beachside restaurant for dessert.

Resized_20170724_195213

That’s not exactly how it went.  My sister’s poor kids are completely off their schedule, and my Little Niece decided to party from 11-4 AM last night.  So by sunset they were completely wiped out.  They wanted no part of being there.  Wiggles was completely captivated by the water and only wanted to stand in the crashing surf.  Sassypants was not interested in getting her picture taken, she preferred throwing sand and then screaming at herself when it got on her face.  Hopefully we got a few good ones, but please know in a few weeks when we post them on social media that for every good one we posted we have 100 that look like this.

After we were done I let the kids loose.  Wiggles and Diva dove in the ocean, completely soaking their nice picture clothes.  I made them ride back home in their underwear.  Before we left we saw a big ghost crab!  The kids freaked out!  Lots of wildlife today!

Poor Sassypants has been tired this trip.  Just look at how tiny and cute she is…but man, is she loud and demanding. This was how our car ride home went:

“MOMMY!  HOLD MY HAND!  NO!  HOLD MY KNEE!  NO!! NOT LIKE THAT!  SPREAD YOUR FINGERS OUT!  Good.  NO!  DON’T HOLD MY KNEE!  HOLD MY CUPHOLDER!

Then Smiles tried to be a nice big brother and calm her down by offering her the phone he was playing games on.  She responded:

“I AM MAD!  YOU ARE MAKING ME MADDER! (Throws phone)  DON’T NO ONE LOOK AT ME AND DON’T NO ONE TALK AT ME!”

Sometimes I don’t know whether to cry or laugh, you know?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

